ScreenSpy - big news from the small screen
Don't Miss

The Astronaut Wives Club Gets a June Premiere Date

By on April 20, 2015

ABC's "The Astronaut Wives Club" stars Zoe Boyle as Jo Schirra, Azure Parsons as Annie Glenn, Erin Cummings as Marge Slayton, JoAnna Garcia Swisher as Betty Grissom, Dominique McElligott as Louise Shepard, Yvonne Strahovski as Rene Carpenter and Odette Annable as Trudy Cooper. (ABC/Cook Allender)

ABC’s long awaited The Astronaut Wives Club finally has a premiere date.

The drama, following the lives of seven women who were wives to America’s astronauts during the space race, will launch June 18 on ABC.

Based on the book by Lily Koppel, the series will focus on seven women who were “key players behind some of the biggest events in American history,” according to the Network.

As America’s astronauts were launched on death-defying missions, the lives of their young wives were transformed, seemingly overnight, from military spouses to American royalty.

As their celebrity rose, and tragedy began to touch their lives, they rallied together.

The series stars JoAnna Garcia Swisher as Betty Grissom; Yvonne Strahovski as Rene Carpenter; Dominique McElligott as Louise Shepard; Odette Annable as Trudy Cooper; Erin Cummings as Marge Slayton; Azure Parsons as Annie Glenn; Zoe Boyle as Jo Schirra; Desmond Harrington as Alan Shepard; Bret Harrison as Gordo Cooper; Wilson Bethel as Scott Carpenter; Kenneth Mitchell as Deke Slayton; Joel Johnstone as Gus Grissom; Sam Reid as John Glenn and Aaron McCusker as Wally Schirra.

The Astronaut Wives Club premieres Thursday June 18 (8:00–9:00 p.m., ET) on  ABC.

Hottest Stories from Around the Web