ScreenSpy is part of the BOX20 publishing family

Home Fear The Walking Dead: What to Expect From the Spinoff Series

Fear The Walking Dead: What to Expect From the Spinoff Series

BY The Screen Spy Team

Published 6 years ago

By Lewis Richards

AMC's Walking Dead spinoff series Fear the Walking Dead premieres August 23rd.

Acting as a prequel to events in the hit zombie series, this gritty new drama sets out to explore the onset of the undead apocalypse through the lens of a fractured family, according to AMC.

Set in LA, a city where people come to escape, shield secrets, and bury their pasts, a mysterious outbreak threatens to disrupt what little stability high school guidance counselor Madison Clark (Kim Dickens) and English teacher Travis Manawa (Cliff Curtis) have managed to assemble.

The everyday pressure of blending two families while dealing with resentful, escapist, and strung out children takes a back seat when society begins to break down.

A forced evolution, a necessary survival of the fittest takes hold, and our dysfunctional family must either reinvent themselves or embrace their darker histories.

With so much buzz already online prior to the premiere on August 23, ScreenSpy breaks down key points of interest on the new show below. Read on to learn what to expect from Kirkman's latest zombie drama.

Also, look out for our complete review of the 90 minute pilot coming soon.

Season 2 Has Already Been Ordered.

Much like TWD, season 1 of FTWD will feature just 6 episodes. (At the end which we will be within tasting distance of the October 11th season 6 premiere of TWD.)

As AMC green-lit the show with a 2-season commitment, we always knew season 2 would be coming, however it has received an extended order of 15 episodes (due 2016). For those who haven’t put it together yet, that means bloody zombie deadness almost ALL YEAR ROUND!


AMC announced today from the Television Critics Association (TCA) Press Tour a 15-episode order for the second season of Fear the Walking Dead, which will air in 2016.

One of summer’s most anticipated new series, Fear the Walking Dead was greenlit back in March for two seasons. As previously announced, the series will debut in the U.S. Sunday, August 23rd at 9:00 p.m. ET/PT with an extended 90-minute episode.

The premiere will also air on AMC Global channels around the world simultaneously and will then re-air in local time zones during primetime.*  A special episode of “Talking Dead,” hosted by Chris Hardwick (Nerdist), will follow the season one finale on Sunday, October 4th at 10:00 p.m. ET/PT (U.S. only).

Fear the Walking Dead is executive produced by Robert Kirkman, Gale Anne Hurd, Greg Nicotero, David Alpert and showrunner David Erickson and produced by AMC Studios.

The series stars Kim Dickens as Madison, Cliff Curtis as Travis, Frank Dillane as Nick, Alycia Debnam-Carey as Alicia, Elizabeth Rodriguez as Liza, Ruben Blades as Daniel, Mercedes Mason as Ofelia and Lorenzo James Henrie as Chris.


Prev5 of 6Next

Dark Matter: The Crew Attempt a Daring Heist With Deadly Repercussions


Related Tags